Jesus is the reason for the season.

As I read Luke 2, being reminded of the story about Jesus and His entrance into the world, I can’t help but be completely humbled.  Here is Jesus, born in a manger, people traveling miles and miles to visit a little boy?  It’s something I don’t ever think I’ll wrap my head around.  I wish I knew just how those wisemen felt when they finally approached sweet baby Jesus.  It must be an inexplainable feeling.

Today, as I sit in a room- with a runny nose, there are thousands flocking around Bethlehem.  People surround where Jesus was born to celebrate his birth.  According to a new article, the Pope stood before the crowd to remind the people of why they were there.  He said, “Let us ask the Lord to help us see through the superficial glitter of this season, and to discover behind it the child in the stable in Bethlehem, so as to find true joy and true light,”

Powerful words.  I love that he says, “TRUE joy and TRUE light”  I know that I get wrapped up (no pun intended>>) in giving and opening gifts and I seem to keep the true reason for this season stored in the back of my mind. As I sit here, reading a news article about Bethlehem today, I can’t help but be reminded of how the people back in the New Testament must have been feeling right now.  Right before Jesus’ birth.  Little did they know just how much of an impact their bold move of traveling would impact people thousands of years later.

So behind the gifts, the family, and the friends, why are we taking 4 week breaks from school, throwing parties, and baking lots of sweets?  It’s for the glory of Jesus.  I encourage you to take some time out of your Christmas holiday and reflect on the reasoning behind this celebration, thanking Jesus that we have the opportunity to celebrate his birth.  Whether it be reading Luke 2 (the story of Jesus’ birth) or spending time alone worshipping the Most High King, know that the reason for this celebration is because there is a God who loves us and sent His son down to Earth to die on the cross for our sins.

Go forth and be merry!

-Leanne

