Love Deeply and Seek Adventure.

The past however many years, I’ve sat at church pretending to have everything together.  The past however many years, I’ve been broken down and molded into someone. The past however many years, I’ve been taught to love the people around me and those far away. The past however many years, I’ve been afraid of adventure.

Love. A topic that might become a theme in my blogs. It seems that the majority of my posts have something to do with this thing people call love. Whether it may be the love for photography, another person, or being loved on. I apparently think about love a lot. Love. Love. Love. Alright I’m sick of the word. Moving on.

Adventure. Something that people enjoy but I seem to cringe at the sound of it. You see, adventure means taking risks – a risk-taker I am not, but I go on adventures all the time. To most it may seem like a boring adventure, but at least it’s an adventure. Being a risk-taker is the least of my worries, but becoming someone who pursues adventure has always been on my to-do list but never gets crossed off.  Helen Keller said, “Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.”

Alright, back to love. Loving deeply. What does it mean? I’m not sure. I wish I had all the answers, but all I can think of is the example of how Jesus loves me. You can call that a Jesus juke, but I’m just going to roll with it. I don’t deserve to be loved. I don’t deserve to have a life that will end in eternity with Him. I deserve a life a apart from Jesus because I screw up on the daily – so why would He accept me and love me the way that He does? You know what, not only does He love me, but His love is deep. It’s not that surface level stuff you tell your dog.  It goes deeper than my heart and mind could fathom and I’m so thankful for that. And that, my friends, is how you love deeply. It’s easy (hehehe), just love like Jesus.

Seek adventure. With loving people comes adventure, amiright? Loving that guy on the street corner who keeps bugging you for chump change means sitting down and hearing his story. That is adventure. Loving that girl in your math class who won’t shut up means quit rolling your eyes and start listening to what she has to say. Seek the adventure that awaits you when you love people deeply.

I’m writing this not to tell you what to do or how to live your life, but for you to hold me accountable to love deeply and seek adventure.

-L

Now for a nuggetty goodness of design.

Image

