A tribute.

It seems that I write when I’m at a loss for words. Ironic isn’t it? Here are some thoughts from a speechless being. This post is a tribute to a dear friend, but a read for everyone.

This morning, moments after getting settled at work, I received news that made my jaw drop, my heart stop, and my body go numb. One of my friends from middle school, high school, and college passed in a car accident. It was at that very moment that I didn’t want to accept reality. I doubted God, questioned his authority and decisions, and frankly,  my feelings were numbed.

After the work day ended, finally grasping what happened, memories of Eric flooded my mind. I could write a biography about him, but to those who didn’t know Eric, that wouldn’t do him justice.

You see, Eric was a good guy, but he didn’t stop at that. He was a godly guy. God-first was his way of living. The joy that he carried with him was contagious, his smile stretched from ear to ear, and his two-steppin’ skills were mighty fine.  The last time I saw Eric was a Billy Bobs where he was a dancing machine.

My hope for you, the reader, is that whether you knew Eric personally or not, you’ll share his story. His story, being the Gospel.  That’s what he lived by, he breathed, he studied, he mimicked. Eric’s legacy will live on because of his joyful attitude and reflection of Christ. I only wish to live a life that scratched the mere surface of how Eric lived.

I will never know the true reason of why sweet Eric was taken so early. I will never fully understand what God’s plan is. What I do know is that things are far beyond control and finding comfort in the Father’s heart is the next best thing to do because that’s what Eric would have done.

He is a world changer. See ya later, Eric. Give God the “knucks” for me.

“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.” -Winnie the Pooh

1173897_10151843105396823_1480015955_n

