it was chillingly cold and the room was silent.

Sept. 11. – a day to remember. A day that brought our nation closer together. Today I’m reflecting on what exactly I was doing on that day. It’s amazing what you can remember from a day so many years ago in Keller, TX.

I was in 4th grade – Miss Hull’s class. It was a normal morning – which I don’t remember much of. Getting up for school became a routine, eating breakfast was a mere blur, and riding to Park Glen Elementary with my fellow neighbors was basically a ritual. I remember distinctly walking back from Art class. It was chillingly cold in the hallways. I suppose my art teacher hadn’t turned on the Television, because I was clueless to what was happening.

Arriving back at the classroom, my teacher said to be quiet. We all instantly listened upon placing our fingers in front of our mouths. We walked into the room, I made my way to the corner desk where my assigned seat was. The T.V. was on, the sound was on low. I sat in my seat – clueless. All of my friends were called to go home, I was sitting in my chair looking around wondering why people were getting early release. It must have been chaos in the office.

When the day ended, I rode home with my mom and finally got the scoop. My reaction was merely, “but why would someone do that to us?” She shook her head and replied, “I don’t know. The news doesn’t know. Nobody knows.” And for remainder of my afternoon snack, I was silent.

I’m not sure if I was silent because I was shocked or silent because of the families that were hit by this awful storm. All I know is that I was silent and afraid.

Little did I know this occurrence on Sept. 11 would change America forever.

So where were you on September 11, 2001?

….and here’s a semi-relevant graphic I made for a sermon series.

Image

